Annual Arts Survey Result Dashboard – 2018/19 Film Arts

The number of Film Festival** programmes increased by 26% to 849 in 2018/19*. Both paid and free screenings recorded a rise, by 6% (1,197) and 132% (241) respectively, to result in a 17% increase in the number of overall screenings (1,438). The box office income also increased by 9% to HKD8.6 million.

Meanwhile the number of Featured/ Individual Screenings continued to rise, reaching a record high of 1,052 programmes in 2018/19*, equivalent to a 9% increase year-on-year. With the attendance growing by 20% to some 201,300, and the number of Live Screenings (which were relatively higher-priced) growing from 166 to 215, the box office income registered a 18% increase to HKD8.4 million.

In summary, there were altogether 1,901 programmes for Film Festivals and Featured/ Individual Screenings in 2018/19*, higher than last year’s figure. The increase in both the numbers of paid and free screenings led to a 7% growth in total screenings (3,362), while total attendance also increased by 19% to 379,000.

As both paid screenings and paid attendance rose, and there were more Live Screenings during the year, the total box office income surged by 13% to HKD17 million.

*The number of programmes in 2018/19 refers to the programmes held during the financial year from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2019.
**The duration of the Hong Kong International Film Festival (HKIFF) spans across two financial years. Data from the 41st HKIFF were counted in 2017/18, data from the 42nd HKIFF were counted in 2018/19, and so on.

艺术界年度调查结果简报-2018/19电影艺术

电影节**的放映节目数量较去年回升,2018/19年度*增加26%至849个放映节目。收费及免费放映场次录得分别6% (1,197) 及132% (241) 的增幅,总放映场次达1,438场,升幅为17%。票房纪录亦回升9%至860万元。

另一方面,专题/个别放映的节目数量持续上升,2018/19年度*按年增加9%至1,052个,为历年新高。随著观众人次增加近两成至20.1万人次,以及票价较高的剧场实录放映场次回升 (由166场增至215场),票房纪录亦相应录得18%增幅,达840万元。

总括而言,2018/19年度*放映节目数量较上年度增加,共有1,901个节目。收费及免费放映场次均录得增长,总场次增加约7%至3,362场次,总观众人次亦上升19%至接近38万。

由于整体收费场次及收费观众人次上升,加上剧场实录放映场次增加,是年度总票房纪录较去年上涨13%至1,700万元。

以下是有关电影艺术统计数字的互动简报板,公众可点击任何一个图表内感兴趣的年度/分项,整个简报板将自动更新以突显该年度/分项。

* 2018/19年度的节目数量以2018年4月1日至2019年3月31日这个财政年度内的节目数量计算。
** 每年香港国际电影节举行时期横跨两个年度,2017/18年度只计算第四十一届,2018/19年度则计算第四十二届,如此类推。