Established in 1995 under the Hong Kong Arts Development Council Ordinance, Chapter 472, the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (ADC) is a statutory body set up by the Government to support the broad development of the arts in Hong Kong. Its major roles include grant allocation, policy and planning, advocacy, promotion and development, and programme planning.

As the ADC’s principal decision-making body, the Council comprises 27 members appointed by the Chief Executive of Hong Kong. Of these, 10 are elected by various arts constituencies. Overseeing the administration of the ADC, these professional and enthusiastic advocates are dedicated to the formulation and implementation of sound policies to promote the arts in Hong Kong. The Council comprises six standing committees, namely the Arts Promotion Committee, Arts Support Committee, Management Committee, Audit Committee, Review Committee and Strategy Committee, as well as 10 art-form groups.

The ADC also invites local arts veterans and professionals to be the arts advisors and examiners to assist in planning and implementation of arts initiatives. Arts advisors are to provide professional guidance and expertise while examiners are tasked with assessing funding applications and making grant-related recommendations.

Recognising the need for the community to be well informed about the ADC, the activities it undertake and the processes and procedures that it adopts.The ADC has designated an Access to Information Officer who is responsible for ensuring that requests for access to information under the ADC’s Code on Access to Information (Code) are properly dealt with in accordance with specific procedures.

Vision

Our vision is to establish Hong Kong as a dynamic and diverse cultural metropolis.

Mission

The ADC is to plan, promote and support the broad development of the arts including literary arts, performing arts, visual arts as well as film and media arts in Hong Kong. Aiming to foster a thriving arts environment and enhancing the quality of life of the public, the ADC is also committed to facilitating community-wide participation in the arts and arts education, encouraging arts criticism, raising the standard of arts administration and strengthening the work on policy research.

Values

  • Freedom of artistic expression
  • Overall development of the arts in an embracing society that cherishes plurality and diversity in the arts
  • Igniting the creative spark in a city and enriching the quality of life of the public
  • Social cohesion, humanistic values and community spirit
  • Equal access to culture and the arts

 

Goals

To strive for the vibrant growth of artistic milieu in Hong Kong, three major development goals have been laid down for the current term:

  • Fostering the development of arts groups
  • Raising the level of artistic standards
  • Exploring development opportunities for artists

 

Strategies

To achieve the three major goals of fostering the development of arts groups, raising the level of artistic standards and exploring development opportunities for artists, the following development strategies will be adopted:

  • Supporting promising artists and arts groups for artistic pursuits
    Besides strategically focusing on cultivating artists and arts groups with potential, the ADC will continue to support a range of projects to popularise the arts and assist arts practitioners and arts groups at various stages of their development through different grant schemes.
     
  • Promoting arts administration to improve the management of arts groups
    The ADC will continue to introduce overseas residencies, arts scholarships/cultural internships/talent development schemes, as well as exchange programmes both within and outside China. These initiatives are designed to strengthen the training of arts administrators and to enhance the professionalism of arts practitioners and arts groups. We will also help arts groups towards professional management by improving their management and organisational abilities.
     
  • Focusing on the arts environment and proposing policy recommendations
    By conducting researches and studies, the ADC will continue to compile, preserve and analyse the information on local arts activities and the results achieved, to observe and understand the local arts milieu and its development in order to reflect the realities and the needs of the arts and culture community to the government. At the same time, the ADC will advise the government on the policies and measures to help foster a more conducive environment for arts development.
     
  • Enhancing public participation and exploring arts space
    The ADC will foster a more pervasive artistic ambience in society and cultivate the audience by organising various arts activities and flagship projects. At the same time, we will strive for the stable development of arts groups and artists by exploring with various strategic partners the possibility of providing more creative spaces to support the arts community. It is hoped that the development of both the software (cultivation of future audiences) and hardware (creative spaces) will attract greater participation by different community segments.
     
  • Fostering strategic partnerships and bringing arts resources together
    The ADC will strengthen the networks with various arts groups and other community and regional organisations, as well as work closely with various government departments, public bodies, the business sector and government bodies and groups both within and outside China. We will promote arts development by bringing together social resources, consensus and coordinated actions.
     

2011–2014 Business Plan

The ADC Administration Office supports, promotes and plans an array of commissioned and self-managed arts activities as well as self-managed/commissioned projects in tandem with the development strategies of the ADC.
Major projects are outlined in the Annex.

Evaluation

Towards Overall Planning

  • The ADC will evaluate its business plan in the middle and at the end of the Council term. Interim and annual reports on the overall planning and recommendations will be forwarded to the next term of Council for reference. The ADC also responds to the recommendations made by the Audit Commission by introducing measures to strengthen corporate governance.

香港藝術發展局(藝發局)於1995年根據香港藝術發展局條例(香港法例第472章)成立,是政府指定全方位發展香港藝術的法定機構。藝發局的角色包括資助、政策及策劃、倡議、推廣及發展、策劃活動等。

藝發局大會由27位委員組成,為局內最高決策層,負責制訂藝發局的整體發展方向及運作。大會成員由香港行政長官委任,其中10位經由藝術界投票選出*;所有成員均為藝術專業人士或熱心藝術發展的社會人士,各委員共同構思和推行藝術政策,致力推動各類藝術發展。大會下設6個委員會;藝術推廣委員會、藝術支援委員會、管理委員會、審計委員會、覆檢委員會和策略委員會,以及10個藝術組別,各司其職。

本局亦分別設有藝術顧問和審批員。藝術顧問的工作是提供專業意見,協助藝術界別策劃及推動界內的事務。審批員的任務是就其專業知識,協助本局審批資助申請和撥款計劃。

藝發局明白社會需要充分認識藝發局、其提供的服務及相關的申請程序,因此已指派一名人員擔任公開資料主任,負責確保根據藝發局的《公開資料守則》(守則)提出查閱資料的要求,均根據既定程序獲得妥善處理。


願景

香港藝術發展局的願景是將香港建立成一個充滿動力和多元化的文化藝術都市。

使命

香港藝術發展局的使命為策劃、推廣及支持包括文學、表演、視覺藝術、電影及媒體藝術之發展,促進和改善藝術的參與和教育、鼓勵藝術評論、提升藝術行政之水平及加強政策研究工作,務求藉藝術發展提高社會的生活質素。

信念

  • 藝術表達自由
  • 促進藝術整體發展,造就多樣化及多元化藝術環境
  • 促進城市的創意,改善社會及生活素質
  • 產生社會凝聚力、培育人文價值及社區精神
  • 肯定人人享有接觸文化藝術的權利

 

目標

為了本港整體的藝術生態蓬勃發展,本屆訂出以下三個主要發展目標:

  • 推動藝團發展
  • 提升藝術水平
  • 開拓藝術家的發展空間

 

主要發展策略

為可達至推動藝團發展、提升藝術水平、開拓藝術家的發展空間之三大目標,本屆將採取以下的發展策略:

  • 扶植具潛質的藝術家/藝團,培育卓越發展
    策略性重點培育具潛質的藝術家/藝團,同時繼續透過資助計劃支持不同形式的普及藝術計劃,為不同發展階段的藝術工作者及藝團提供支持。
     
  • 推動藝術行政,提升藝團的管理能力
    繼續推行多項海外留駐計劃、藝術獎學金/文化實習/人才培育計劃,及國內外交流計劃,加強藝術行政人才培訓,以增進藝術工作者/藝團的專業知識、提升藝團的管理及組織能力,協助藝團走向專業管理。
     
  • 關注藝術環境,提出政策建議
    透過不同類型的研究和資料蒐集等工作,整理、保存和分析本地藝術活動及發展成果,持續跟進、了解及觀察本港文化藝術生態環境及發展趨勢,向政府反映藝文界的客觀狀況和需要;同時就政府推出各項與藝文發展相關的政策和措施提出意見,締造有利藝文發展的環境。
     
  • 擴闊參與群眾,開拓藝術空間
    藝發局將舉辦各項藝術活動及旗艦項目,透過不同渠道推動普及藝術的理念,多方位為社會營造藝術氛圍及培育未來觀眾。同時,探討透過不同的策略伙伴提供更多適合藝文界使用的創作空間的可能性,協助藝團/藝術家穩定發展。期望藉由發展軟件(培育未來觀眾)及硬件(創作空間),擴闊不同的群眾參與。
     
  • 締結策略伙伴,凝聚藝術資源
    加強與各藝術團體、其他民間及地區組織的聯繫,亦致力與各政府部門、公營機構、商界、國內外政府機關及團體等緊密合作,凝聚藝術發展的社會資源、共識和協調行動,致力推動藝術發展。
     

2011-2014年度計劃

辦事處主要透過「邀約」、「自行管理」、「邀約/或自行管理」的形式,支援、推動及策劃配合本局發展策略的藝術活動。
主要計劃詳列於附件

檢討方式

整體規劃層面

  • 整體規劃方面的檢討可於每屆中期及大會完結前進行,討論的建議可作新一屆委員的參考。本局亦會參考審計署建議,加強內部監管機制,有效履行本局的職能。