The Hong Kong Arts Development Awards 2011 Presentation Ceremony, organised by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (ADC) and co-presented by Television Division of Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK), was held tonight at the Lyric Theatre of the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts.

A total of 29 awards were presented to local artists, arts organisations, schools and business organisations in recognition of their unstinting support and contribution to the arts development in Hong Kong. Among the various awards, the Life Achievement Award, the highest accolade, was bestowed on veteran stage actor, director and drama educator, Dr Chung King-fai for his long term contribution to the local arts and cultural sector; while the Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts went to renowned xiqu actor, Ms Yam Bing-yee and accomplished arts administrator, Prof Lo King-man.

Officiated by Mr Donald Tsang, Chief Executive of the HKSAR; Mr Wong Ying-wai, Wilfred, Chairman of ADC and Vice-chairman Ms Yan Hau-yee, Lina, the presentation ceremony was attended by nearly 1,000 guests.

Speaking at the ceremony, Mr Wong Ying-wai, Wilfred, Chairman of the ADC, praised the efforts and accomplishments of the awardees. Mr Wong said, “Each award presented tonight represents the achievement of local artists and arts groups as well as the contribution of different parties including individuals, schools and business organisations in the promotion and development of arts and culture in Hong Kong.”

In addition, Mr Wong said the ADC will continue to nurture arts talents and bring local arts to the public, mainland and overseas via different channels.

The Award Scheme has seven categories, namely the Life Achievement Award, the Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts, the Award for Best Artist, the Award for Young Artist, the Award for Arts Education, the Award for Arts Promotion and the Award for Arts Sponsorship. In addition to a trophy, each recipient of the Award for Young Artist will receive a cash award of $22,000 for further studies or artistic creation.

Among the award list, the Life Achievement Award is conferred on arts master with continued and significant contribution to the arts scene in Hong Kong. This year, the recipient of the Life Achievement Award,  Dr Chung King-fai is a legendary figure in Hong Kong Theatre for over half a century. He enriches the world of art with his celebrated and award-winning oeuvre of over 100 drama titles. He is also a great motivator who has nurtured and inspired generations of stage players throughout his career and continues to dedicate his expertise and skills to the stage. His achievements and contributions to local drama development are extraordinary and remarkable.

One of the recipients of the Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts, Ms Yam Bing-yee is the Queen of Second-lead Actresses. Her stage performance is highly acclaimed by the Cantonese opera professionals. The other recipient, Prof Lo King-man is hailed as ‘The Father of Hong Kong Musicals'. He has outstanding contributions on local music development, arts education and arts administration in the past decades.

Prominent names are invited to be the award presenters. It includes (list in no particular order):
  • Ms Zi Luo-lian, renowned actress in Cantonese opera
  • Ms Lee Heung-kam, renowned actress
  • Mr Chip Tsao, famous writer
  • Mr Young Lap-moon, Raymond, Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs
  • Mr Roy Tang, Director of Broadcasting
  • Mr Michael Lynch, Chief Executive Officer of West Kowloon Cultural District Authority
  • Mr Lau Siu-ming, renowned dancer and actor
  • Ms Yao Jue, renowned musician 
  • Mr Kan Tai-keung, renowned designer
  • Mr Mao Chun-fai, Fredric, renowned stage director and drama educator
  • Prof Chung Ling, Associate Vice-President and Dean of Faculty of Arts of the Hong Kong Baptist University

Among the awardees' list, the Award for Best Artist went to Mr Xian Liang (Dance), Mr Poon Chan-leung (Drama), Mr Pun Kwok-ling, Lawrence (Literary Arts), Mr Ng Cheuk-yin (Music), Mr Stanley Wong, alias anothermountainman (Visual Arts) and Ms Wan Fai-yin (Xiqu).

The Award for Young Artists went to Ms Tang Ya (Dance), Mr Wong Yiu-cho, Joe (Drama), Ms Tsang Tsui-shan, Jessey (Film), Ms Hui Fong-wah, Phoebe (Media Arts), Mr Lam Fung (Music), Mr Kwan Sheung-chi (Visual Arts) and Ms Wang Kit-ching (Xiqu) while the Award for Arts Sponsorship went to Aedas Architects. For detailed listing, please refer to the enclosure.

To enlighten the ceremony, performances were staged. It included:
  • Tribute to Chung King-fai by Mr Wong Chau-sang, Anthony, Ms Law Koon-lan and Ms Lau Nga-lai, Alice (written and directed by seasoned stage worker Mr Tang Wai-kit, Desmond)
  • Cantonese Operatic Excerpt from The Dream of the Red Chamber by Ms Wan Fai-yin  (winner of the Award for Best Artist in Xiqu) and Ms Angel Leung, Arts Ambassador-in-School of the ADC
  • A cappella X East–West Fusion Band Performance by Mr Ng Cheuk-yin  (winner of the Award for Best Artist in Music) and SIU 2
  • Opera Medley with outstanding works previously produced or directed by Prof Lo King-man, conceived and arranged by Mr David Quah, renowned tenor and other singers

The award presentation ceremony will be broadcast on TVB Jade on 10 June (Sunday) at 3:30pm. The programme will also be live broadcast and archived on RTHK website (

Hong Kong Arts Development Awards 2011 - Awardees List 
Life Achievement Award
Chung King-fai
Award for Outstanding Contribution in Arts
Yam Bing-yee
Lo King-man
Award for Best Artist
Xing Liang
Poon Chan-leung
Literary Arts:
Pun Kwok-ling, Lawrence
Ng Cheuk-yin
Visual Arts:
Stanley Wong (anothermountainman )
Wan Fai-yin
Award for Young Artist
Tang Ya
Wong Yiu-cho
Tsang Tsui-shan
Media Arts:
Hui Fong-wah, Phoebe
Lam Fung
Visual Arts:
Kwan Sheung-chi
Wang Kit-ching
Award for Arts Education
School Division
Gold: Po Leung Kuk Law's Foundation School
Silver: Tai Po Old Market Public School (Plover Cove)
Bronze: Chinese Methodist School, Tanner Hill
Non-School Division
Gold:  The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Limited
Silver:  1a space
Bronze: Hong Kong Drama / Theatre And Education Forum
Award for Arts Promotion
Group / Organisation Category
Gold: Design and Cultural Studies Workshop Limited / The Robert H. N. Ho Family Foundation Limited
Silver: Hong Kong Photographic Culture Association
Bronze: Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra

Media Category
Gold:    AM730 Media Limited
Silver:   Prism Creation Ltd.
Bronze: Ta Kung Pao (H.K.) Ltd.
Award for Arts Sponsorship
Aedas Architects

藝萃 〈第十八期〉