Annual Arts Survey Result Dashboard – 2017/18 Visual Arts

A decreasing trend in the number of visual arts exhibitions remained.  Data showed a 6% decrease compared to the previous year, with 1,186 exhibitions held during the year of 2017/18*.  The cumulative exhibition days excluding permanent exhibitions were 30,289 days in this year, which was similar to the previous year.

Despite number of Painting exhibitions (excluding permanent exhibitions) dropped 17% to 307 exhibitions, it remained to be the top medium across the years.  On the other hand, Chinese Painting, Calligraphy & Seal Carving exhibitions have increased by 7% to 244.

The analysis was conducted with reference to the Hong Kong Visual Arts Yearbook published by the Department of Fine Arts, the Chinese University of Hong Kong.  Comics has been added since Yearbook 2016, whereas Electronic Art has been merged with New Media Art.

On the right is an interactive dashboard of the Visual Arts statistics.  Readers can click on the interested category / year in one of the charts and the dashboard will be refreshed to highlight the respective category / year.  All figures can be downloaded as well.

Note: “Others” and “Unknown medium” are not included in the third chart: “Number of Exhibitions by Medium (Excluding Permanent Exhibitions)”, so the numbers of exhibitions in this table does not add up to the number of exhibitions excluding permanent exhibitions from the first chart: “Number of Exhibitions”.

*The number of exhibitions in 2017/18 refers to the exhibitions held during the financial year from 1 April 2017 to 31 March 2018.

藝術界年度調查結果簡報-2017/18視覺藝術

香港的視覺藝術展覽數量持續下跌。從資料所得,2017/18年度* 的展覽數量共有1,186個,較上年度少約6%;撇除常設展後,累積展期為30,289天,與上年度相約。

雖然於撇除常設展後的繪畫展數量在2017/18年度下跌約17%至307個,其數量仍然是歷年來最多的;另一方面,書畫篆刻展覽則增加至244個,較上年度多約7%。

上述分析乃根據香港中文大學藝術系編製《香港視覺藝術年鑑》的原始記錄,自2016年起出版之年鑑已增加了「漫畫」展覽類別,「電子藝術」亦併入了「新媒體藝術」類別。

右方是有關視藝展覽統計數字的互動簡報板,公眾可點擊任何一個圖表內感興趣的年度/分項,簡報板將自動更新以突顯該年度/分項。所有數據亦可供下載。

註: 由於「按藝術媒介劃分的展覽數量(撇除常設展) 」 (第三張圖) 內不包括「其他」及「媒介資料不詳」的展覽,圖表的總和並不等於「展覽數量」 (第一張圖) 撇除常設展的展覽數量。

* 2017/18年度的展覽數量以2017年4月1日至2018年3月31日這個財政年度內的展覽數量計算。