Annual Arts Survey Result Dashboard – 2017/18 Film Arts

Fewer programmes were held for Film Festivals**, slipped 21% to 672 in 2017/18*.  Both paid and free screenings recorded a drop, by 12% and 38% respectively resulting a drop of 15% in total number of screenings, to 1,229.  Its box income decreased by 9% to HKD7.9 million.

Meanwhile more Featured/ Individual Screenings were observed, with number of programmes reached a record high of 967 programmes, an increase of 23% from previous year.  Though its attendance grew by 27% to 168,250, it did not generate a growth in box office income record, offset by the drop in Live Screenings income.  Its box income of HKD7.1 million remained the same as last year.

In 2017/18*, a total of 1,639 programmes were held for Film Festivals and Featured/ Individual Screenings and remained steady.  Number of both paid and free screenings climbed up resulting in 12% growth (to 3,143) in total, reaching 319,500 in attendance.

Yet box office income dropped 5% to HKD15 million, which could be explained by significant increase in free screenings (an increase of 33% from the previous year, to 664 screenings) along with the fall of high-priced Live Screenings (from 233 to 166).

Below is an interactive dashboard of the Film Arts statistics.  Readers can click on the interested category / year in one of the charts and the entire dashboard will be refreshed to highlight the respective category / year.

*The number of programmes in 2017/18 refers to the programmes held during the financial year from 1 April 2017 to 31 March 2018.

**The duration of the Hong Kong International Film Festival (HKIFF) spans across two financial years.  Data from the 40th HKIFF were counted in 2016/17, data from the 41st HKIFF were counted in 2017/18, and so on.

藝術界年度調查結果簡報-2017/18電影藝術

電影節**的放映節目較去年減少,2017/18年度*下跌21%至672個放映節目。收費及免費放映場次均錄得分別12%及38%的跌幅,總放映場次回落至1,229場,跌幅為15%。票房紀錄則下降9%至790萬元。

而另一方面,專題/個別放映的節目數量則大幅增加至967個的歷史高位,較去年上升23%。雖然觀眾人次增加約27%,達16.8萬人次,但票房紀錄因劇場實錄放映場次減少而未見增長。專題/個別放映的票房紀錄為710萬元,與去年相若。

2017/18年度*放映節目數量與去年相約,共有1,639 個節目。收費及免費放映場次均錄得增長,總場次增加約12%至3,143場次,觀眾人次達32萬。

受到免費放映場次增加 (較去年增加33%至664場次) 以及票價較高的劇場實錄放映場次減少 (由233回落至166場) 所影響,票房紀錄下跌約5%,回落至1,500萬元。

以下是有關電影藝術統計數字的互動簡報板,公眾可點擊任何一個圖表內感興趣的年度/分項,整個簡報板將自動更新以突顯該年度/分項。

* 2017/18年度的節目數量以2017年4月1日至2018年3月31日這個財政年度內的節目數量計算。

** 每年香港國際電影節舉行時期橫跨兩個年度,2016/17年度只計算第四十屆,2017/18年度則計算第四十一屆,如此類推。