Annual Arts Survey Result Dashboard – 2016/17 Visual Arts

According to the data gathered, visual arts exhibitions held in Hong Kong has been on a steady decline since 2012/13, with 1,265 exhibitions during the year of 2016/17, a decrease of 4% compared to the previous year. Apart from permanent exhibitions, the cumulative exhibition days were 30,331 days in this year, reduced by 9% from the previous year.

Excluding the permanent exhibitions, painting which has been the top medium across years dropped 11% in 2016/17 at 369 exhibitions. On the contrary, Chinese Painting, Calligraphy & Seal Carving exhibitions have increased by 8% to 229.
The analysis was conducted with reference to the Hong Kong Visual Arts Yearbook published by the Department of Fine Arts, the Chinese University of Hong Kong. In the Yearbook 2016, Comics was a newly added medium, whereas Electronic Art has been merged with New Media Art.

On the right is an interactive dashboard of the Visual Arts statistics. Readers can click on the interested category / year in one of the charts and the dashboard will be refreshed to highlight the respective category / year. All figures can be downloaded as well.

Note: “Others” and “Unknown medium” are not included in the third chart: “Number of Exhibitions by Medium (Excluding Permanent Exhibitions)”, so the numbers of exhibitions in this table does not add up to the number of exhibitions excluding permanent exhibitions from the first chart: “Number of Exhibitions”.

*The number of exhibitions in 2016/17 refers to the exhibitions held during the financial year from 1 April 2016 to 31 March 2017.

藝術界年度調查結果簡報-2016/17視覺藝術

從資料所得,香港的視覺藝術展覽數量自2012/13年度以來一直緩慢減少,2016/17年度* 的展覽數量共1,265個,較上年度少約4% ;撇除常設展後,累積展期為30,331天,較上年度少約9%。

撇除常設展後,繪畫展數量在歷年來是最多的,至2016/17年度減少了11%,共369個;相反,書畫篆刻展覽增加至229個,較上年度多8%。

上述分析乃根據香港中文大學藝術系編製的《香港視覺藝術年鑑》的原始記錄,2016年出版之年鑑已增加了「漫畫」展覽類別,「電子藝術」亦併入了「新媒體藝術」類別。

右方是有關視藝展覽統計數字的互動簡報板,公眾可點擊任何一個圖表內感興趣的年度/分項,簡報板將自動更新以突顯該年度/分項。所有數據亦可供下載。

註: 由於「按藝術媒介劃分的展覽數量(撇除常設展) 」 (第三張圖) 內不包括「其他」及「媒體資料不詳」的展覽,圖表的總和並不等於「展覽數量」 (第一張圖) 撇除常設展的展覽數量。

* 2016/17年度的展覽數量以2016年4月1日至2017年3月31日這個財政年度內的展覽數量計算。