Hong Kong Arts Development Council
Home Sitemap 繁體 简体Images VersionPrint Friendly



HKADC Organised the First-Ever Delegation to Classical:NEXT

To support local artists in developing overseas markets and international network, the Hong Kong Arts Development Council (HKADC) organised the first-ever Hong Kong delegation by subsidising 10 Hong Kong musicians/composers/producers to attend Classical:NEXT held on 16-19 May 2018 in Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

Classical:NEXT is an international music expo which covers both classical and contemporary music. It was born out of the idea to provide a platform for music practitioners from all around the world to exchange, observe, discuss and explore the new trends and opportunities in music development. Since its first edition in 2012, Classical:NEXT is now in its seventh year and has developed into an event attended by 1,300 music professionals representing 750 companies from 48 countries. The four-day event features expo with stands representing artists/organisations as well as conferences, mentoring sessions, network meetings, showcases and pitching sessions.

Members of the Hong Kong delegation actively engage in exchange with professionals from other countries. Members of the Hong Kong delegation actively engage in exchange with professionals from other countries.
Members of the Hong Kong delegation actively engage in the exchange with professionals from other countries.

Under the arrangement by HKADC, the 10 funded Hong Kong musicians/composers/producers were able to meet with the Classical:NEXT’s organiser as well as representatives of arts organisations from Australia, New Zealand and the United States to understand in depth the latest music scene of different countries. The delegates also actively participated in various events of the music expo to exchange ideas with overseas practitioners. Through promoting Hong Kong music productions, the delegates strived to establish a global network to identify collaborative opportunities in the future.

The Expo’s organiser welcomes the Hong Kong delegation attending Classical:NEXT 2018.
The Expo’s organiser welcomes the Hong Kong delegation attending Classical:NEXT 2018.

As this is the first-ever visit to Classical:NEXT by a sizable Hong Kong delegation, the organiser specially invited the HKADC representative and 3 members of the delegation (including Ms Fiona Siu, Director of RhapsoArts; Mr Louis Siu, Artistic Director of Toolbox Percussion; and Ms Sharon Chan, General Manager of Hong Kong New Music Ensemble) to present in the Postcard Pitch session where audiences were introduced to a general picture of Hong Kong music scene and its future development, letting international music professionals have a better understanding of Hong Kong music arts industry.

The Postcard Pitch session includes an introduction of Toolbox Percussion and its artistic vision by the group’s Artistic Director Mr. Louis Siu. Photo Credit: Louis Siu International music professionals attend the Postcard Pitch session to learn more about the Hong Kong music scene.
The Postcard Pitch session includes an introduction of Toolbox Percussion and its artistic vision by the group’s Artistic Director Mr. Louis Siu.

Photo Credit: Louis Siu

International music professionals attend the Postcard Pitch session to learn more about the Hong Kong music scene.

Members of the Hong Kong delegation were positive about their first visit to Classical:NEXT, with most of them continuing to maintain close contact with overseas counterparts. Future collaborations were in discussion while some initiatives in music publishing and exchange performances were confirmed. Delegate member Ms Sze Ka-yan, Music/Sound Events Curator of Emptyscape, said: “It was a great and beneficial learning opportunity to be in touch with professionals from other countries who are engaged in similar music productions. We can exchange ideas on our experiences, practices, thoughts and information.”

To conclude the experience of participating in Classical:NEXT, delegates acknowledged it as a platform for Hong Kong music practitioners to both expand their overseas network and to learn about the latest international trends in music development. In addition to making new contacts for potential collaborations and appreciating new music showcases from the world, Hong Kong music professionals also gained new perspectives on the latest operating and development models from other regions (such as operation of music groups, audience development, promotion strategies/formats) through the topical sessions. The insights gained could provide new angles and new thoughts which would be beneficial in the further development of Hong Kong music.



  ^ TOP

香港藝術發展局
主頁 網站地圖 ENG 简体圖像版本友善列印



香港藝術發展局首次組織代表團參與Classical:NEXT音樂博覽會

為協助香港藝術家開拓海外市場及建立海外聯繫,香港藝術發展局於2018年5月16至19日資助10位香港音樂家/作曲家/製作人組成香港代表團,首次參與於荷蘭鹿特丹舉行的Classical:NEXT音樂博覽會。

Classical:NEXT是一個國際音樂博覽會,範疇涵蓋古典及現代音樂,目的是為世界各地不同工作崗位的音樂工作者提供一個交流平台,互相觀摩聯繫,開拓未來音樂發展的新路向及機會。自2012年開始舉辦,今年Classical:NEXT吸引超過1,300位來自48個國家及750間機構的音樂工作者參加。4天的博覽會設有不同的藝術家/機構的參展攤位,另外亦包括專題研討會、顧問指導環節、交流會議、音樂展演及計劃推銷。

香港代表團成員於Classical:NEXT積極與海外同業交流

在本局的安排下,10位獲資助的香港音樂家/作曲家/製作人於Classical:NEXT博覽會期間與主辦單位及來自澳洲、紐西蘭及美國的藝術機構代表會面交流,從而對不同國家的樂壇有最新及更深入的了解。另外,10位代表團成員亦於博覽會期間積極參與不同的活動,與世界各地的同業交流行業知識及經驗,同時亦推介香港的音樂製作,並藉此建立網絡,拓展未來合作機會。

The Expo’s organiser welcomes the Hong Kong delegation attending Classical:NEXT 2018.
博覽會會主辦單位歡迎香港代表團出席Classical:NEXT 2018

由於今次是首次有較具規模的香港代表團到訪Classical:NEXT,主辦單位特別邀請本局代表及其中3位代表團成員(包括華意堂總監蕭穎心、敲擊襄藝術總監邵俊傑及香港創樂團總經理陳楚珊)主講一節Postcard Pitch,向博覽會參加者介紹香港的音樂概況及未來發展,讓海外同業對香港音樂有更具體的認識。

The Postcard Pitch session includes an introduction of Toolbox Percussion and its artistic vision by the group’s Artistic Director Mr. Louis Siu. Photo Credit: Louis Siu International music professionals attend the Postcard Pitch session to learn more about the Hong Kong music scene.
敲擊襄藝術總監邵俊傑先生於Postcard Pitch介紹其樂團及藝術理念
(相片提供: 邵俊傑)
國際同業出席Postcard Pitch了解香港音樂概況

香港代表團對首次到訪Classical:NEXT都有正面的評價,大部份成員回港後仍有與不同的海外同業保持聯繫,繼續洽談未來合作的可能性,而部份成員更已落實海外合作計劃,包括曲目出版、交流演出計劃等。代表團成員之一「空城計劃」的策展及音樂總監史嘉茵表示:「能於博覽會期間接觸到其它國家做相類似音樂製作的同業,與他們互相交流各自的經驗、做法、理念及資訊,是一個很好的學習機會,可算是獲益良多。」

總結是次出席Classical:NEXT的經驗,代表團成員整體認同博覽會能提供一個平台讓本地音樂工作者拓展海外網絡及了解國際音樂發展的新趨向,除結識到世界各地的音樂同業、商談合作機會及欣賞不同地區的精品演出外,亦能通過專題研討的環節得知其它地區的最新營運及發展模式(例如樂團運作、開拓觀眾、宣傳策略/方式等),為本地音樂工作者提供新的視野及思維,並可作為本地音樂未來發展的借鏡。



  ^ 頁首